Friday 15th April


Causeway Link, Ennis, Co. Clare




For its Ennis debut, Kaleidoscope presents the RTE Con Tempo Quartet, the Stickleback Singers and the Cuar Trio in an eclectic music assembly- a Haydn string quartet, English madrigals, music by Irish composers Gerald Barry and Jennifer Walshe, a solo violin sonata and original trad-fusion material.



A delightful madrigals by English renaissance composer Thomas Morley (a contemporary of John Dowland).

The Joke

In “The Joke “ Op.33. no.2, written in 1781, J. Haydn cleverly show’s off his musical sense of humour.

Sonata No.4 and No.6

Eugéne Ysäye –Sonata No.4 for solo violin in E minor dedicated to Fritz Kreisler. The 4th of the 6th solo violin sonatas written by Eugene Ysaye in homage to Johann Sebastian Bach, which have become fast favourites of violinists, given their technically virtuosic demands.

String Quartet no.1

Irish composer Gerald Barry revises his 1994 string quartet in one movement for the 1916-2016 celebrations in the Wigmore Hall.

The Soft Menagerie

Ahead of Béal’s collaboration with Jennifer Walshe in July 2016, ensembÉal present the Irish premiere of The Soft Menagerie. Jennifer Walshe is a highly imaginative composer; originally from Ireland, she has been performed extensively throughout the world. She is very playful in her use of text, props and gesture and The Soft Menagerie Iis a great example of this. Walshe combines Edward Lear’s The Owl and the Pussycat with a number of other texts, and as well as singing the performers will be speaking and playing with various props.


Stickleback Singers

The Stickleback Singers

A vocal ensemble that were originally formed for Kaleidoscope Night in 2014. They specialize in repertoire from the English Madrigal school. Elizabeth Hilliard (soprano) Sarah Busfield (soprano) and Paul McGough (Baritone). The vocalists will also give a world premiere of a work by Irish composer Jennifer Walshe as Ensembéal, an ensemble which will appear at Dublin’s literary/music festival, “Béal”.

aoife Ni Bhriain

Aoife Ni Bhriain

No stranger to Clare Memory Orchestra fans, Dublin-born Aoife Ní Bhriain (violin) began her violin studies at the tender age of 9 and is a equally comfortable in the the worlds of classical music and traditional. She is currently studying in Leipzig.

The RTE Contempo Quartet

The RTE Contempo Quartet

Ireland’s leading quartet, Described by The Strad magazine as “a polished and professional group.full of exuberance with a fine sense of ensemble”, the RTÉ Contempo Quartet is one of the most exciting and vibrant chamber ensembles performing today.


Newly formed Cuar takes it influences from the worlds of Traditional music and Jazz. It’s members are Neil O’Loghlen (Flute/Double bass) Matthew Berril (Clarinet) and Aoife NI Bhriain (Violin), all three of whom are members of the award-winning Ensemble Eriu.